The Latent Image

Out the corner of my eye I see a ‘photograph’. I blink and turn my head. For a moment the latent image stays in my memory and then fades. I look again, and this time decide to make something of this moment that would normally pass me by. I hold the camera in my left hand, with the light coming over my left shoulder and try to frame a semblance of what I remember seeing.

But what is going on here? I am making a photograph, but I am also capturing a memory of a moment for myself; of reading intently and not being able to exactly understand or being able to make sense of what the author has written.

My thoughts jump, I’m taken back to being a child and having a different relationship with photography. Capturing moments with this memory-making machine. Getting a picture that would remind me of something or someone somewhere sometime. Later a print is made from the negative and I re-remember an event that had faded.

Seeing the print sparks the thoughts that are associated with the elements in the picture, it’s feels like that moment when I might have been reminded of a dream. The memory comes back as a jumble of thoughts and feelings and sounds and pictures. The photograph is like a single moment from a dream. I don’t ‘make sense’ of this cacophony of thoughts and feelings.

When I show this picture to someone else they know nothing of these thoughts and feelings I share with this print, this photograph. I have to tell a story of the image, but in telling the story some magic, a relationship I had with the images fades.

(8512) photography, latent image,

2 thoughts on “The Latent Image

  1. Hello Bill, thank you for the comment. I’ll take note of your concern with asbestos and the need to avoid asbestos exposure. The government here have a section about asbestos on their health and safety website
    http://www.hse.gov.uk/asbestos/
    but they give little support in helping people get rid of asbestos. I see asbestos still in use in many old building, especially old garden sheds and garages. It’s still a problem here, but little is being done to totally eradicate this highly toxic material.

  2. Hello,

    My name is Bill Hawthorne, and I represent maacenter.org, a leading web resource for asbestos exposure and mesothelioma cancer information. Our organization is dedicated to increasing awareness of the terrible health consequences of asbestos exposure through the distribution of the best informational materials and public outreach efforts.

    I found your site through a search and decided to contact you because of its high environmental, sustainable and green presence which is extremely important in our movement. Your viewers are extremely savvy and motivated. The promotion of how buildings should now be built using sustainable green products to avoid asbestos and mesothelioma as well as the awareness of past buildings and preventative steps in avoiding asbestos exposure are extremely important. My goal is to get a resource link on your site/blog or even to provide a guest posting to be placed.

    I look forward to hearing from you. Please feel free to check out our website at http://www.maacenter.org. Thank you for your time and consideration.

    Bill

Leave a Reply

